Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Supernatural Summer TV

Summer is officially here and so are the quirky, offbeat, and often high-risk shows that don't normally air during the lucrative/crucial Fall season. Supernatural or supernatural-adjacent shows continue to be popular, and at this rate many more will likely jump on the bandwagon. (How soon before we'll see CSI: Purgatory?) 


Dominion  NEW
Post-apopcalyptic sequel/spin-off to the 2010 movie Legion pits called angels against humans. 
Premiered Thursday, June 19 on SyFy

The Haunting of..., Season 3
Premiered Saturday, June 21 on LMN

True Blood, Season 7/Final Season
Premiered Sunday, June 22 on HBO

Teen Wolf, Season 4
Premiered Monday, June 23 on MTV

The Leftovers  NEW
This shows centers on the people who were not taken during "The Rapture." Any show about heaven will inevitably also be about purgatory or hell and it's minions, right?
Premieres Sunday, June 29 on HBO

Under the Dome, Season 2
Monday, June 30 on CBS

The Witches of East End, Season 2
Sunday, July 6 on Lifetime

Extant NEW
Halle Berry plays an astronaut on a 13-month solo mission who comes back to Earth pregnant (aliens!!!) in this Steven Spielberg produced futuristic mission.
Premieres Wednesday, July 9 on CBS

Hemlock Grove, Season 2
Streaming, July 11 on Netflix

The Dead Files, Season 6
Saturday, July 12 on Travel Channel

The Strain  NEW
This dark vampire horror series was created by Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan, and is based on their novels of the same name. Very excited about this one, especially since FX really delivers.
Sunday, July 13 on FX

Sharknado 2: The Second One
Wednesday, July 30 on SyFy

Outlander  NEW
Based on the best-selling books, the story follows a combat nurse from 1945 swept back in time to 1743, and promises history, science fiction, and, um, romance (if you're into that kind of terror).
Premieres Saturday, August 9 on Starz


No comments:

Post a Comment